JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I ordered a 3 pack from Ron trying to find a replacement for the rub I've been using for almost 6 years. Well I finally got to a weekend where I could give them a test as well as trying out a Cherry/Chipotle sauce that sounded phenominal for pork.. So without further ado...

Here are the Ribs slathered and rubbed down coming to room temp before going in the smoker...

Scan-1.jpg
In order top to bottom... Hint of Houston, Original, In The House

Scan1-1.jpg
I started to take pics as I was foiling them and managed to get one shot that turned out.. This is the rack with Hint of Houston on it

Scan2-1.jpg
Fresh out of the smoker for a brief rest while I get the rest of dinner ready to go.

Scan4-1.jpg
In The House with Stubbs Spicy

Scan5-1.jpg
Original with the Cherry/Chipotle Sauce on the left, Hint of Houston with Stubbs original

Scan6-1.jpg
Wifes Plate, one of each with cornbread and scalloped potatoes

Scan7-1.jpg
My plate with a couple more of the Cherry/Chipotle glazed.

All in all I think they came out GREAT.. Kudo's to Ron for turning out an exceptional product. I think I'm stuck between the Original and Hint of Houston for a new favorite with a definite lean towards the Houston over the Original... For those that don't like a rub that is overpoweringly salty you have to try his rubs...

Forgot the Cherry/Chipotle recipe since I modified the original...

1/3c Smucker Cherry Preserves I would probably raise this up to 1/2c unless I can find a better preserve with more cherry flavor to it.
1/3c Ketchup
1/4-1/2tsp Thyme (Use sparingly it can over power the sauce)
1/2tsp Ground Cumin
3-4Tbsp Cider Vinegar (To Taste)
1 Chipotle in Adobo
1tsp Adobo Sauce
1/4c Brown Sugar
2Tbsp Dark Amber Maple Syrup I really couldn't taste the Maple coming through would probably drop this.
1/4c Water