JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Here's the deal...

My wife bought me a Ruger Gunsite Scout rifle for Father's Day 2013. It was a total surprise and I love her for picking out a gun for me... plus it's a gorgeous piece.

It's been sitting in my safe for the past 18 months... I've only put 10 rounds through it using the iron sites. I don't have an optic on it yet because I've been unsure how I want to use it. It feels like it should have a long eye relief scout scope on it, but I'm not a hunter... more of an aspiring target shooter. I recently started shooting on the rifle ranges at TCGC. I've been tempted to put a standard scope on it, but that feels like blasphemy with this gun. The few times I've shot it, I've noticed that it kicks pretty hard (I'm more used to AR's). Bottom line, it's a gun I feel emotionally connected to, but I'm having trouble connecting with it.

I shot a friend's suppressed 270 on the range last week and loved the light recoil. So that got me thinking... should I trade the Scout for a proper target rifle (e.g. Rem 700 AAC)...?

Today I was at Rich's Gun Shop and I was asking Logan (sales manager) about a Rem 700 AAC (308) thinking I'd go the suppressed route (in essence giving up on the Scout). Knowing I have the Ruger, Logan asked why not instead turn the Scout into better target shooter? I said because the barrel is too short. He said that doesn't matter. Then he gave me a recipe to make the Scout a tight shooter with 50% less recoil.
  • Trigger job - $125
  • Bedding and Free Float barrel - $235
  • Muzzle Brake - $120
  • Scope - $425 - $600 (depending on what I choose)

I like the idea of maximizing the potential of the Scout and making it something I can use on the range to shoot tight groups. So my questions are...