JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am starting to venture into HAM land. I am currently studying for my technician license but still need my first radio.

Out the gate I was thinking of a nice hand held (e.g. VX-8dr) but then I realized that it would be fairly limited in its use to me. I stepped back and wondered what I would be using it for:

I figure I will want a stronger radio at home capable of hearing emergency broadcasts and for communicating with responders. I was thinking of a "shack-in-a-box" (e.g. FT-857D) because of its tri-band capacity. Then a handheld in case I need to be mobile from home.

Naturally there is a trade off: if you want something that does everything; it will do nothing powerfully. So I am pondering just getting a HF transceiver.

I would appreciate hearing some HAM's opinions. Am I better off just getting a good HF rig or should I go for a tri-band? Should I start out with something like a FT-450. Just starting into this I am not trying to break the bank.

If it matters I am in Seattle, plenty of hills, at about 200-feet ASL.

Well, you don't get many privileges in the HF bands as a tech. A small piece of 10 meter is all if I remember. As a tech, I use 2 meter and 70 cm only. I find HT's to be ok for a pinch, but a good mobile radio and power supply works well for a base station. I have a Yaesu FT 2900 at home and an Icom 2300H here at my office. Both using a magnetic mount dual band antenna. At home its stuck to a large baking pan/cookie sheet and here I have one stuck to a metal filing cabinet. both work well for a ground plane.

I can work the Mt. Hood repeater from my office in Hillsboro with ease.

IMG_3052.jpg