JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm thinking about building my first AR15,which will also be my first AR15 ever.
I'm thinking about getting a XM177 kit cause I really like how those look and I don't need or want any rails because I don't use optics or front grips,I prefer iron sights and using my support hand on the magwell,so I'll be getting the kit with the A2 upper.I'm going for the Vietnam era XM177 look so I'll also be using metal 20 round mags.

This is the kit I'm thinking about: https://www.model1sales.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=category.display&category_id=226

Has anyone else built one of these?(if so how did it come out?)
Does anyone else know of some good kits use A2 uppers and has no rails as an option?

I'm not an expert on AR's or AR building, not by a long shot. One thing I DO know is that I saw a marked improvement in accuracy when I switched over to a free-float hand guard. As much as I like the look of the Vietnam era AR's, I'm sticking with free-float for any future builds.

I'm not an expert on AR's or AR building, not by a long shot. One thing I DO know is that I saw a marked improvement in accuracy when I switched over to a free-float hand guard. As much as I like the look of the Vietnam era AR's, I'm sticking with free-float for any future builds.
Unless free float has any other significant advantages I have no interest in making my future AR15 that ugly,I'm not to concerned with accuracy,if accuracy bothers me in the future I'll buy a matchgrade barrel.

Just a thought.......

The CAR15 used an 11.5 inch barrel and the flash hider will have to be long enough to be 16.1 inches in the end. That hider is a hollow tube where the bullet is unsupported. AND, it will have to be welded on.....to make it legal.