JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've been reloading for a few years, trying to find a solid .308/762 load. I've been sticking with Varget as it is very solid overall.

One thing I've read and experienced myself is that Varget almost self-limtis when it comes to pressure. Having loaded up some fairly heavy loads (45.1 to 46.0 grains) I'm seeing no signs of pressure on the brass and everything is smooth.

I've read about how people theorize that Varget just doesn't burn fast enough to over-pressure the round. Have other people seen this behavior?

43.5 gr with 168gr BTHP Sierras is the sweet spot for me when using varget. It seems to match the Fed GM Match 168gr very closely.

Stop believing in voodoo.
First and most important, looking at your brass and primers as an indicator of pressure is about the dumbest thing you can do. VERY accurately calibrated copper crushers do NOT accurately report pressures over around the 50,000psi range, the industry has repeatedly proven and excepted this decades ago. Knowing that nugget, you think your very UN-CALIBRATED primers and brass will somehow tell you that you "don't have a pressure problem"?!! No.
The alloy that was very common years back, and the reason most think "Winchester brass is good stuff" was Olin alloy C260, which was hardened to a tensile strength of around 85,000 psi. Guess what pressures you are ringing when that stuff shows head expansion?....

Of the non-pressure testing methods, the chronograph is the best way to tell. The very tightly controlled chamber and bore/groove specs used for testing, will ALWAYS hold more pressure, thus have more velocity than any factory rifle. So if you are pushing faster than printed velocities, it is because you have higher pressures.