JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I found a free gun cabinet on Facebook Marketplace yesterday. Solid metal unit from Cabela's with a standard lock but no key (the seller's renters had left it along with a bunch of other junk when they were evicted). Brought it home, drilled out the lock and replaced it with a new lock for which I had a key.

IMG_0023.jpg

Drilling out the lock took a couple of minutes and made a lot of noise... but it was pretty easy to do.

I also received a lock picking set yesterday that I bought from Amazon. It came with a couple of locks to practice with, and after an hour or so I was able to consistently open those locks within a few seconds. I also went back to the lock I had just installed on my gun cabinet and was able to pick it in under 10 seconds.

So basically as a complete amateur I was able to quietly pick my own lock in less time than it would take for my garage door to fully open.

I wanted to share this to pop any false security bubbles you might be relying on if you think your guns are safe in a standard key locked gun cabinet. If that gun cabinet is in your garage, and your garage door hasn't been secured (see my other thread about how thieves can open your garage door in 6 seconds: https://www.northwestfirearms.com/threads/ammo-storage-cabinet.365048/#post-2895343), then it will only take thieves a couple of minutes to get in and out with your guns.

I also wanted to ask you to share what type of gun cabinet lock you use and/or recommend... that hopefully is more secure than what I am using :)