JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am new to reloading but have found everything I need to reload .223. Of course my main priority is to be safe. The powder I have is winchester 748 and I have read that it can be temperature sensitive. It is very cold right now where I am, and I will probably shoot a lot in summer when it is very hot. Temp difference of upwards of 90 degrees. Other than loading and testing closer to when I will be shooting, what recommendations do you have for a safe, year round plinking round? I understand that I will sacrifice some accuracy. I will be using:

Mixed head stamp brass
Cci 41 primers
W748 powder
Hornady 55gr fmjbt

Also, is there a problem loading 5.56 cases to .223 specs?

Varget, and other IMR type single base powders tend to be less sensitive to temp. Varget is notably so.

For .223/5.56, my personal fav is SMP735, which is the canister version of H335. I load 25gr and go, depending on what loading manual you use, this is anywhere from about .3 to 1gr less than MAX. I have shot this load everywhere from hunting out around yreka last year (it was too cold for animals to come out at -2F so we did some target shooting), to shooting in the desert over the summer at 120F out near the salton sea.

I think the bigger issue you're going to have, is having a loaded round in a hot chamber, where the temp swing can be from -2F all the way up through 300F if you're really letting loose.

Is there any definitive guide for powder temp stability? I see lots of opinion and "personal" experience but never any real evidence or published data.

I have high hopes for Varget myself as most of the time I see people say it IS temp stable.