JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
hey guys, first off id like to start off by saying i am fairly new to reloading maybe about 9 months in. I reload 308 and use blc2 with great results. after doing some research a few people have said that it is temperature sensitive. what i am wondering is does that mean that it shoots differently at 30 degrees than 80 degrees? or does it mean if i were to sight in when its 50 degrees out my rifle wont shoot the same when its hotter or colder? i have shot in all sorts of weather with my reloads and i havent noticed anything outrageous... i am no bench shooter by any means and dont expect to drive tacks. im happy if i hit the deer or elk in the engine compartment. can anyone shed some light on this for me?

thanks guys!!

The sensitivity to temp change will not matter for Elk hunting. When the powder is spoken of as temp sensitive, they are speaking of a point of impact change of 1 inch at 100 yard shift with a 100 degree change in outside temp. Significant for target shooters but not so much for elk hunters.

hey thanks for the reply! its just that they(other forum members) make it seem like its such a dramatic change. i havent noticed anything. but, then again, im no bench target shooter. im the type to go set out milk jugs or bowling pins and shoot while leanin on the bed side of my truck

hey thanks for the reply! its just that they(other forum members) make it seem like its such a dramatic change. i havent noticed anything. but, then again, im no bench target shooter. im the type to go set out milk jugs or bowling pins and shoot while leanin on the bed side of my truck