JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I have no experience with Tarus, on the 38/357 revolvers Smith is about 200 more. Anyone know if the Tarus is really not worth buying?
Boy, do you know how big a can o worms ya just opened...........here come the haters.

I've had several Taurus over the years and still do, haven't had any issues. Depends on how much you want to spend and if what you want is available from each. Older Rossi are good too but Rossi is owned by Taurus now and I believe all handgun production migrated to Taurus.

I sorta like the older stuff vs newer heres' a few the 38/357's are on the right

100_3052.JPG

Last Edited:
I wouldn't want to buy a Taurus. That's my opinion. STOP, Stop, stop.....because I do own a Taurus semi-auto pistol.

That being said......
I've bought several Rossi revolvers as my "cheap" inexpensive alternative to the genuine S&W. Yeah....I also have a fair share of S&W revolvers.

So then.....
Open one up. Do a comparison of the lock works. Mind you that I'm NOT saying that the parts are interchangeable but because they look alike, I'd be willing to bet that a gunsmith could work on it. Say if: I wanted to smooth up my trigger a bit.

Aloha, Mark

PS........my collection of Rossi revolvers.
Rossi-38-Sp-M885.jpg

Rossi-357-mag-R46202-or-M877.jpg

Rossi-Braz-Tech-R35202-or-M88.jpg

Last Edited:
I've owned two Taurus revolvers, one a Ti Tracker in .357 and another an M44. I've also owned three S&W revolvers, two that are Performance Shop guns.

The Tracker was a pleasure to shoot and I like it, but it came from the factory with a cylinder/barrel gap of less than 0.001", which caused it to lock up after about 50 rounds.

The M44 was stainless and had a trigger on par with S&W Performance Shop revolvers - no problems with that revolver.