Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Taurus 85

Discussion in 'Handgun Discussion' started by NGK22, Mar 19, 2013.

1. NGK22

NGK22 Portlaand New Member

Anybody have any thoughts about a Taurus model 85 snub 38? I've been eyeing one at a local pawn shop for a few months but can't bring myself to buy a Taurus.... Any thoughts?

2. mat33

mat33 Portland, OR Active Member

What's drawing you to it for months if you hate Taurus? If it was in good condition with tight lockwork and a smooth trigger/cylinder latch at a low price, I wouldn't hesitate. But if it's been on the shelf for months, how good a deal could it be?

3. AlphaCoyote

AlphaCoyote Oh, I get around. New Member

Had one for a long time. Went bang every time. Internet chatter is often nuts by nuts.

4. PuddleMonkey

PuddleMonkey Vancouver, WA Well-Known Member

Had a 605 that would lock up after 20-25 shots, every time. Someone here sold it to me without mentioning the issue.

5. JohnnyD

JohnnyD Vancouver Bang Bang

My brother hasn't had any issues with his 85 and they do have great warrentys I'd say go for it.

6. HuckFin

HuckFin mt rainier Active Member

Every one with a taurus 85 I've talked to liked theirs. I have 2 of the 605's and no problems.

7. pdxPope

pdxPope East Multnomah Co. (the DMZ) Member

I had one of the ultralights for a couple of years. Put maybe 300 rounds down the pipe. It always went 'bang' at the appropriate time, but it was a little unplesant to shoot. Good carry gun, lousy target pistol.

-JP

8. pioneer461

pioneer461 Columbia County, Oregon Active Member