JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am a music teacher so this sounded interesting to me. Anyone ever heard of, or have any thoughts about practicing defensive shooting with a metronome fed to your ear? Starting at a slow, steady rate so that there is plenty of opportunity to focus on proper mechanics and then gradually increasing the tempo to develop a consistent "cadence" of fire on the target, or maybe across a line of silhouettes. Being able to increase speed in such small, exacting increments while monitoring and maintaining technique seems like it might be an interesting and beneficial exercise. Would love to hear any thoughts or experiences!

I like the idea. Is the metronome analog or digital (can the increments be set to discrete values)?

It seems very worth it to set up, say, 4 seconds; get that mastered. Move to 3.5 seconds, master that, then maybe 3 or 3.25 depending on how difficult the move from 4 to 3.5 was...

Maybe start at 5 seconds and take it down in notches of 1/4 or 1/10th second. Wyatt Earp used to say "Slow is smooth and smooth is fast, learn to shoot slow but in a hurry, and this sounds like it might be a good way to get that kind of party started.

Maybe not even tell the student you're tightening the timing at first... "What do you mean you can't do four-second timings, you've been firing at THREE the past week!"

I don't like focusing on speed of shooting, I like feedback. This is a major reason why I tend to focus on reactive targets. My favorites are either steel/rubber swingers or boxes with balloons.

The main goal with training towards lethality is continuing to put lead on target until the target falls.

Given the video above... I'm not sure I've ever shot at a target that close. I usually use the little dot targets he's using at 50ft.