JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I know there's many people that will scream no, but if the stock market does what it did in 2001 why not? I'm serious about doing it. What do you guys think? It's not the model we have followed before, but things are different now.

You're going to take a huge hit on taxes. Other than that, why not? When I say huge, I believe that you're looking at 30% to 40%, but I'm only an engineer with an MBA, so maybe there's someone else that can speak more to the tax situation than myself.

Yes, it's the tax hit. Are you ready to take it?

Would you be better to go to a cash position in your 401k now?

Or, go to a cash position and then withdraw chunks of the 401k over a few years if the tax hit is more manageable? This would require a bit of napkin calculations based on your current income, the amount in your 401k, and where it bumps your total annual income for each year that you take a chunk of the 401k.

Keep in mind that your total income goes higher, such that you need to pay more tax on your normal income. After the withdrawal, you might need to keep some cash to pay the resulting tax bill on the following April.

Peter

Is your 401k in an employer sponsored plan, or have you moved it to a private IRA when you last changed jobs? When I leave a job, rather than rolling my plan from one employer sponsored plan to another, I move it to a roll-over IRA. This allows me to better choose my investments; stocks, options, bonds, mutual funds, etc.

I think as Peter stated earlier, it's better to change your portfolio than it is to take a 40% tax hit. Just my $0.02.