JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am new to the AR market, I have shot every variant of the M16 (A1, A2, A3, and A4) and what I believe to be every variant of the M4. I was a knuckle dragging grunt so I never did my own advanced maintenance on my rifle, just the many hours cleaning and functions testing. My question is if most off the shelf AR-15's have a removable muzzle brake/flash suppressor. I have been very interested in Surefire's line of flash/sound suppressors and was wondering if anyone has any experience with them or it is even worth it to purchase either. Since I never did any of the armorer work I don't know if AR's fitted with a 16" barrel even have removable muzzle brakes, every time I have seen one it looked pretty permanent to me. The rifle I am most interested in purchasing at this moment is the Bushmaster MOE Midlength .223/5.56 rifle that is on their home page, I was unable to find anything regarding a removable muzzle brake. Thanks for any advice ahead of time.

Most (not all) ar units with a 16" barrel or longer have a removable flash/brake. If the unit has a 14" or less barrel, (unless it's a pistol, or an atf stamped SBR) would have a fixed non-removable flash/brake. There are flash suppressors that will acomidate a sound suppressor without removing it. There are also quick dis connect sound suppressors out there.

IMO, sound suppressors on an ar is a waste of money. The rounds are supersonic and the suppressors will make it quieter, but not really by a huge amount. You will still be making a lot of noise. Subsonic ammo is really better for sound suppression.