JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Dieting for the obsessive compulsive

Every year or two I do a new years diet. Not because its a resolution its just that I have a birthday , anniversary, wifes birthday , Christmas , new years etc all in the month of December and we celebrate plus the weather goes to hell and my current job is work from home. Not a lot of moving around. So, I ended up picking up 40 lbs in the last year. Time to take control. I allot January and February as diet months although it looks like this year I'll have to throw March in there as well. Ive been tracking this stuff for the last 10 years. When I started this I weighed 261.7 lbs . My target is 220 lbs. I weigh first thing in the morning. I weigh everything I eat during these sessions to the gram and stick to it religiously. I'm a math guy so I do the math balance diet assuming the following :

3500 calories in a lb of fat.

At my age , weight and height and level of activity it takes 2800 calories to maintain weight. Ive backed these numbers up in my spreadsheet. Science.

I reduce my caloric consumption to 1600 calories per day and 100 or less net grams of carbs

That is a deficit of 1200 calories per day.

First week I ALWAYS lose 10 lbs in 7 days. Always. Why? My carb intake drops and my insulin levels do as well because I'm not processing anywhere near the same level of carbs. As insulin drops so does the water my body retains to process the insulin and carbs.Its all water weight.

3500 calories in a lb of fat/ 1200 deficit calories = 2.92 days to lose 1 lb.

Its been a week. Ive lost 10.2 lbs as expected. Now I have 31.4 more lbs to go . 31.4*2.9=92 days. 2nd week of April I should be done. Back to swilling beer and eating hot wings. . It may go a little faster as Ive taken up 3-5 miles a day of cycling.