JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Are there any options for treating a stainless gun to darken it somehow? I'm not looking to coat the stainless or change its color I just want to tone down the bright shiny stainless...

Tape off the blasted finish, anything but the flats it sounds like with a good tape like electricians tape, and hit the flats with steel wool or scotchbrite...

that might be too time consuming to mask off the slide serrations, plus Id have to remove the thumb safety. The stainless is raw so I don't think scotchbrite will change the shinyness any and I don't want to mess with the grain or the laser etching... especially the serial number. This is just a random curiosity, not a priority.

Hitting it with either steel wool or scotchbrite will not remove any legally applied serial number.
I'm a professional, and I'm about out of ideas without seeing it in front of me. Maybe one of the other resident gun plumbers can chime in.

Good luck, hope it works out for you!

I'm trying to do the opposite, I want a mirror finish on my Bowie knife. Been having a heck of a time getting some if the fine scratches out of it.
I only have grits from 220 , 320, 400, 600, then skips to 1500.
8 & 10 hundred would do it I think, but I don't want to spend that much money on it
I'll think I have them gone till I polish it up, and there they are again in the same place.
Went by NAPA and they wanted $10 for a package of 1000 grit, I got sticker shock and left them there.
Back to the 4 and 600 grit again, but not tonight, just got cleaned up so I can Host at the Senior Center tomorrow, gotta do my bit for the community. Didn't want to look or smell like a bum!

Any suggestions on removing those hair line scratches greatly appreciated.
Carbon steel is easier to finish I think!