JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am thinking about getting a SA M1A. I like the walnut stock one but all of my shotguns are synthetic stocks. I have a dehumidifier in my safe but would but would I be better off getting the M1A in fiberglass stock instead? I have no experience owning a wood stock firearm.

Thank you.

If one is going to go M1A, I'm of the notion that it should be with a classic wood stock. But to each their own.

That said, I wouldn't sweat the maintenance. Almost all of my long guns have wood stocks and it is no trouble.

There is wood.
And there is wood.

You are obviously a wood virgin. ;)

I have a S&W revolver that had a wood grip but I put a pachmayr rubber grip on instead. It felt better than the wood grip. I did save the wood grip in case I sell it someday.

When it comes to the M1A, I have to say go wood. That said, I purchased a brand new M1A last year, and while the wood stock is beautiful, it is not 100% finished. I think it needs at least a final sanding and some sealing, which I'm comfortable doing myself. That aside, for a classic style rifle like this one, I just can't see putting anything but wood on them. Just my humble 2 pesos.

When it comes to the M1A, I have to say go wood. That said, I purchased a brand new M1A last year, and while the wood stock is beautiful, it is not 100% finished. I think it needs at least a final sanding and some sealing, which I'm comfortable doing myself. That aside, for a classic style rifle like this one, I just can't see putting anything but wood on them. Just my humble 2 pesos.

It's the beauty in guns with wood like yours that I'm talking about. ;)

Do you have to worry about it cracking the wood stock at all? I'm not intending it to be a safe queen but I just have a couple dehumidifiers in safe. I guess I need to buy a hygrometer gauge.