JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Anyone plan on doing spring turkey this year? Turkey hunting seems like a fun challenge and I'd really like to try it, but I've never hunted before. I just finished hunter ed a few days ago (I'm 22). I've got a suitable shotgun, but no camo, calls, blind, etc. I live in Kittitas County. I've heard there's some decent turkey hunting around here, but I've also heard that it gets hit pretty hard. Driving across the state for one bird doesn't sound particularly appealing so I'd like to stay within an hour of here. Does anybody hunt turkey around here, or have any tips for success?

CuddlyBear,

I'm new to Spring Turk hunt also. I've found a good spot in Klickitat, County. Son will do the Youth hunt April 7 & 8. I'll get to shoot the next weekend. I'll keep watching this thread for any help & tips others may send your way.

For us, I've prepared with a call box, crow call to help locate them, camo stuff, ect... We're luck enough to have private property there to set up camp and leave it up. Went up last weekend and scouted, asking neighbors along the way. Several mentioned where they've seen them and I went searching in those areas. Met a rancher who invited us to start the season, for the 13 yr old, on his ranch! Love it! He had seen lots of turkey there for the past few weeks.

I got some help on this site from previous posts about turkey hunting. Other help just by talking turkey with the guys at work. Ask, search, prepare & scout! You'll get there. Good luck.

Bill

Thanks Bill. I was thinking about doing a scouting trip this weekend, maybe going up on Friday afternoon and camping out that night. I forgot about a call, I'll pick one of those up soon enough. What's a crow call? I've never heard of that.