JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Ok I am a newbie on reloading got a few questions

Q1. do you need to tumble once fired brass if it looks clean ? does it serve any other purpose other than make the brass purdy.

Q2. I was watching a u-tube video about the lee turret press (which is what i got thanks to a member of this board) and he did not trim the case so is trimming always necessary ? i will be loading for 1 rifle and the ammo will be for that rifle only. In the video he ran it into the sizer die that de primed and primed it then it auto powdered it then he put a bullet it in it and seated it . which leads me to

Q3. do you have to clean the primer pocket.

Thank you and look forward to sequel , Some more Newbie reloading questions part Deux

A1. Yeap, purdy. And there is nothing wrong with that. :) I recently switched from brass polish to mineral spirits. The results are amazing!
A2. If you exceed the max case length, you may get very high chamber pressures. Particularly true for bottle necked rifle cartridges. I always process my brass fully before priming. Of course, I only have a single stage. But, if I were to have a turret or a progressive, that's one thing I'd never, ever change.
A3. You dont, and I often don't to plinking handgun brass. For rifle, I always do.

I got one of these a few months ago. The best money spent! I clean pockets with attachments sold separately.
245424.jpg

Thanks

so what is the name of that thing? i have been looking at different models of trimmers but have not seen that one.

and so trimming is not as important on non bottle neck cases like pistol cases
?