Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Smoked Salmon Recipies...

Discussion in 'Northwest Fishing' started by Cogs, Sep 20, 2015.

1. Cogs

Cogs Washougal, WA. Volunteer Coordinator 2015 Volunteer 2016 Volunteer

I'm not an expert but I do like to try! Learn a little more each year.

Here's a good base. Can't go wrong. Can do it, start to finish, in 1 day. I found this when searching for recipes, tried it and added extra stuff to it. Problem is, I never tried just the recipe all by itself and never wrote down the extras that I added. So, this year, I decided to do a batch with just the recipe; Good. Then tried a second batch with 1 extra ingredient to the brine, and so on. This year, I'm writing down the changes and additions. Still working on it, however, the base case is really good and the additions have been great.

Marylin's Squaw Candy (doubled from her recipe).
    • 1 Cup Soy Sauce
    • 4 Tbs Brown Sugar
    • 1 Tsp Fresh Ground Ginger Root
    • 1/2 Tsp Pepper
    • 2 Tsp Liquid Smoke
    • 1/2 Case Beer (to consume while watching the smoke!)
    • Boil ingredients, (without the beer), & let cool.
    • Marinate Salmon 2-3 hrs. (this is 2-3 times longer than Marylin's recipe).
    • Pat dry. (not mentioned on Marylin's recipe). (didn't rinse because short marinate time).
    • Oven warm (150) 45 mins - 1 hr. (to help facilitate the initial drying time).
    • Into smoker. (My charcoal smoker about 4 hrs. I add a lot of smoke. I like lots of smoke).
    • About half way, I brush on a glaze.
    Enjoy the beer!

Additions: Add 4 Tbs Worcestershire Sauce to the brine. Nice.
    Other additions yet to come.

Glaze: Tried Molasses & Honey mix and added Lemon. Not bad at all.

Glaze: Tried Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce & Honey. Love it!

Glaze: Really like Habanero Jelly with Honey mix. Very nice.