JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've read the threads that exist on this topic, but am still on the fence as I read "supposed to" "should be" "I heard"

anyone know from experience what the difference might be - will SR increase pressure or decrease pressure in SP round?

Thanks.

No matter what responses you receive, I want you to consider this! The small pistol primmer is utilized to burn 6 to 10 grains of powder or there about, the small rifle primmer is utilized to burn 30 to 50 grains of powder. They my look the same but they are not. I've been reloading for 40+ years and still have both eyes and all ten fingers. Stick with the manuals and stick around.

Perfect response and one I would advocate. But my question is what is the difference between them in terms of pressure? Yes, I would reload with them if I knew the characteristics across each platform and how to adjust the powder accordingly (if needed). All the responses I've read are gut feel. I do find it a bit ironic as there is a guy who spent the time to figure how to reload primers, but no one, that I have seen has compared SR to SP pressure wise, or at least that I have seen.

No matter what responses you receive, I want you to consider this! The small pistol primmer is utilized to burn 6 to 10 grains of powder or there about, the small rifle primmer is utilized to burn 30 to 50 grains of powder. They my look the same but they are not. I've been reloading for 40+ years and still have both eyes and all ten fingers. Stick with the manuals and stick around.

so I searched around google. This is horrible topic - it's like debating which engine oil is best. no need to respond to this thread. I am going to let it die - as I know I will never find my answer and if I do someone else will come along to contradict it.