JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I recently joined a range that offers archery, pistol, rifle and shotgun (trap & skeet). I do everything but shotgun, however, it sounds as if it could be a lot of fun to shoot reactive moving targets, instead of paper only. I know nothing about the discipline though, and very little about shotguns in general. I am thinking about starting with a lighter 20 gauge semi-automatic, mostly for recoil and flinch reasons. Do you guys have any advise on good beginner guns, articles like "skeet & trap 101" ? Thanks much.

I'm new to trap myself. I know folks that use low end pump guns up to rather spendy semi-autos. I've only shot trap twice, done both with a simple Mossberg 500, and it worked just fine for a single shot like trap. I have also owned Remington 870's in both 12 and 20 gauge and can tell you the recoil of the 20 didn't feel all that different than the 12, which kind of surprised me. And honestly, the weight difference between the two guns wasn't that much. My wife is not very big and she is able to handle a 12 gauge for trap herself.

My recommendation, as a novice trap guy, is that, starting out at least, a simple pump, break barrel or double barrel should be fine. If you want to invest more in a semi-auto, then great. Maybe the more experienced folks might suggest otherwise, but that's my 2 cents.

A few months ago, I picked up a used Remington 870 Wingmaster in a trade (one of the older models with the nice wood and good fit and finish) that is a bit worn, but really nice. That will be my trap gun next time out.

Oh, and I haven't found a great website/resource yet. I'm leaning heavily on the old hats at the range, many of whom are more than happy to talk to you and share advice.

Last Edited: