JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Yesteryear I was 6' tall, 195 lbs, strong, athletic, and I am a Vietnam vet. Now I have 64 years, arthritis, some painful joints, etc (the infirmaries of age are the bill we pay for our youthful indiscretions). Having been around the block more times than I can remember, I have a lot of valuable experience, come SHTF.

I was a heck of a good pistol shot in my day, but shooting a 45 nowadays just plain hurts. So I got a 9mm, and that was good for awhile. Now I am forced to look at other options, including cost of the pistol and a lot of ammo (SHTF storage).

I read an excellent article the other day (it was pro large caliber) on the lethality of various calibers. It was about alternatives, and cleverly pointed out that shot placement trumps caliber every single time. Much to my surprise, the 22LR is equal to stabbing a person with a 14" screwdriver, right up to the hilt. The same article was kind enough to point out that not everyone can reliably and accurately shoot a 45.

Pistol skills diminish quickly for me, while rifle skills seem to hang on forever. I must regularly shoot 50-100 rounds from a pistol to keep my skills up to snuff. Being retired means watching my pennies pretty closely, $1.72 a week for 22LR beats everything else cost-wise.

So this old dog is now armed with an itty bitty 22LR pistol. Having argued for the 45 more than once, I do feel a bit sheepish. On the other hand, after putting 5-10 mags through it every week, once again I can put 'em where I want 'em. That is worth my life, so I'll just be a sheepish old fool and pray I never have to do the deed.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~