JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello All,

So I'm pretty new to shooting shot guns. Just got my first one for my Birthday in February. I wanted to start simple and cheap so my wife got me the classic Remington 870 Express 12 Gauge. Love the gun, did some Trap Shooting last weekend and had a blast!

I didn't hit much but I warmed up near the end. However, three older men were enjoying the course we were on and had a lot of friendly advice. One of the men said, 'I'd bet you a dollar that gun is choked'. Me, being new to this just said, 'Ok...'.

He looked in my gun and sure enough there is a choke tube in the barrel. He explained that the choke tube tights the shot pattern and you normally use that for hunting and I would have a much better time shooting trap if I removed it.

So, can anyone on here help educate me a little on these choke tubes? Is it dangerous to just 'take it out'? Do I need to put a different one in? I found on Remingtion's website a choke tube kit but I don't see any explanation of whats used for what, etc!

Thanks for any help/advice I can get!

Welcome to shotguns;)!

Yes, if it is a removable choke, you must put a different one in to protect the inside threads on the barrel.

You can buy chokes from full cylinder (no choke) to full choke and everything inbetween.

I would recommend checking youtube for beginning shotgun/choke tutorials.

I personally would NOT go full cylinder because you will only be able to hit close targets - the further they get away, the tighter your pattern needs to be to hit it at distance. Pick something in the middle and play from there.

I know someone who learned with a full choke gun - he is a surgeon when we toss clays.