JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I got a wing master 12 ga. 30 inch full choke fixed. was advised to not shoot slugs through it. a little help please. Looking to try feral boar hunting any places to go from what i know the boar are way into oregon.

You can shoot slugs through a full choke all day long, Foster style slugs are designed in such a way to allow them to be shot through a choked barrel. Good luck on you wild hog quest!

You might as well shoot the foster types, they are cheaper and you are not going to likely be tack driving with a full choke, anyway

After market 870 barrels are plentiful and come in a variety of combinations. Keep your 30" full choke and mount a shorter tube with cylinder or improved cyl.

Why? when for the same money you can get a rifled barrel and shoot the 2000fps Hornady sabot(fosters).
Kinda makes it like shooting a big bore rifle.

You can shoot slugs though a "full" barrel but you can't shoot slugs thought a full choke IE threaded choke.

A rifled barrel is meant for sabos not rifled slugs. you can use rifled slugs but they are meant to me used in a smooth barrel.

Do not use shoot in a rifled barrel

You can most definitely run slugs through a full choke, been there done that. I would however advise you to either buy or borrow a rifle for your hunt.
A decent lever 30-30 should be pretty inexpensive on the used market. Also if you know other hunters it's likely at least one owns a loaner gun.
Not trying to beat you down on using slugs through your gun, just explore options.

You can most definitely run slugs through a full choke, been there done that. I would however advise you to either buy or borrow a rifle for your hunt.
A decent lever 30-30 should be pretty inexpensive on the used market. Also if you know other hunters it's likely at least one owns a loaner gun.