JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So my son and his friend (16 & 17) want to do a solo overnight camping/fishing trip to a fairly remote spot in Lewis County,

Both of them have their heads on straight, but I dont leave my cave without my club and dont like the idea of them out there without anything.

Pretty sure firearms are off the table

How about open carry fixed blade knives? Pepper spray even?

Anything?

Defensive against what...?
Animal or other people...?

If people...

In my experience a knife can be good however....
Using it in a defensive or offensive manner ain't nothing at all like in movies , TV or video games.
It takes skill , practice and the willingness to use it.

I have no real world experience with pepper spray..so I can't say here.

For both people and animals...
I would suggest :
A good , clean camp....
Situational awareness....
A non-confrontational manner...but also a " I ain't worth the fight , to get what you want " look....
( which may be asking a lot from a 16 and 17 year old...not to forget to mention many adults )
A stout walking staff...
Andy

I dont know Wa. law but I think a tent is considered the same thing as a house when it comes to possessing guns.
Regardless I dont see why a minor cant posess a gun in the woods. Wa even allows concealed carry for outdoor recreation without a permit.

To me this one would fall under, "you can't live your life in so much constant fear that it prevents you from actually living your life." Some of my best memories in life are of various "buddy trips." I'd let them go.

But...
  • Bear spray and pepper spray for sure
  • Decent knife for sure
  • Make sure you know exactly where they're going and their route
  • Make sure you have designated check-in times