JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So i have been thinking about getting a scope and rings for my Marlin 795 22lr rifle (Dovetail rail) for plinking but am stuck on what to get and where to get it. I have never bought a scope and rings before.

I looked on amazon and saw they had some inexpensive scopes on there that had mainly positive reviews but the rings weren't the best and they suggested upgrading the rings. I have no experience in this field so any help would be appreciated. I am not looking to spend more than 80$, I know that's not much but i don't want to commit to much to something i may or may not like. This will only be a plinking set up.

Thanks in advance.

I really wouldn't worry about the rings on a dovetailed .22. Some guys, especially 10-22 guys will bolt on or "build" that rifle with all kinds of stuff with the only original thing remaining being.. nothing, all to say they did and with decreased reliability and about the same accuracy.
I'd slap a $30 malwart scope (with rings) on it

Nikon prostaff rimfire fixed 4x. I have 3 of them and they are great scopes but they usually run $100-120 and come with rings but if you shop around you might find one on sale cheaper.

Thanks for the feedback guys.

@Certaindeaf

I have heard stories and read reviews about how the dovetail rings that come with lower end scopes tend to come loose after a few dozen rounds causing the scope to loose zero. I would rather not deal with that lol.

@jonn5335

That scope does look good but what iv'e seen is that it doesn't come with dovetail rings. I will definitely keep a look out and see if i can get one on the cheap somewhere.

Last Edited: