JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi Everyone,
I am relatively new to Reloading but have had a good success so far. When researching ways to correctly measure seating depth for my specific rifle I have found items such as the Sinclair Bullet Depth Tool with a comparator, but it says it will only work with bolt action rifles, Thompson Contenders, and some AR15 type rifles. Hornady makes another type of tool called an OAL Lock and Load that works with semi-autos but seems to be less accurate. There are other methods I have read about like the smoked bullet, and another method involving inserting bullet against throat then measuring with a dowel then measuring again with closed bolt, determining difference, etc. My question is what would be the absolute best and most accurate way to accomplish this in my SCAR? and any rifle for that matter? Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.
Johnny

I have never pulled the barrel on a scar but i think with the barrel out you could use the Sinclair tool with the assistance of the AR adaptor. But you might want to just seat a smoked bullet in a fired case first and get a rough guess. Depending on your free bore, bullet profile, and mag long seating may preclude mag feeding. If your looking to single feed by all means go for it. I have the Sinclair tool and found it very repeatable with bolt rifles and my AR but i have never used the other tools. Just follow the directions closely and be impressed by the differences in your groups with a few thou in CBTO. A repeatable way to measure cartridge base to ogive will also be required. I use the Hornady caliber attachments.

Man pulling the barrel sounds daunting for what I'm trying to accomplish. The repeatable case to ogive can be accomplished with a comparator right?