JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm new to Southern Oregon, and want to try fishing my Boston Whaler from Brookings to Coos Bay for Salmon and Rockcod this year. I know coastal fishing, but nothing about this area.

I figure I'll do some car-camping trips this Winter and get on a few charter boats, but it would be great to meet some forum members who could help get me started in the right direction.
Feel free to message me privately or chat here.

Thanks....Lyle

I don't know what rockcod is, but we have lingcod and rock bass here. There is a mountain range submerged off the coast, and they like to hang out around those. It's very much a game of searching for the right hump where they are biting.
Your best chance at salmon is to study the runs of our watersheds and target the mouths of bays or the ocean around those estuaries for about a month prior to their predicted migration.

I'm new to Southern Oregon, and want to try fishing my Boston Whaler from Brookings to Coos Bay for Salmon and Rockcod this year. I know coastal fishing, but nothing about this area.

I figure I'll do some car-camping trips this Winter and get on a few charter boats, but it would be great to meet some forum members who could help get me started in the right direction.
Feel free to message me privately or chat here.

Thanks....Lyle

I lived in Brookings from 1987-1993. It was all fantastic fishing then for both salmon and bottom fish.