JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I will have to place my safe in our dank, humid garage. It will be bolted to the concrete and the company suggested 1/4" washers under the corners for air circulation , but I am not good with providing pry points. I see a suggestion of roofing felt in another thread, but no response pro or con. Opinions?

Also, we have a habit of providing up to 4" behind furniture, but I don't want to make it easy to throw a chain or cable around the safe to drag it off. So, any issues with the safe against the wall? Maybe again with roofing felt? Or is it better to leave a space and build barriers to make lassoing difficult?

I will have a storage cabinet overhead.

I bolted my vault right up against a wall to my concrete garage floor that is covered in thin carpet. I added a dehumidifier inside the safe, any chance you could run a large(r) dehumidifier in the area to keep moisture down? You might be able to run multiple units inside the safe if moisture is going to be a constant problem.

Wedge anchors in the concrete. As tight to the wall as possible. Along with Lag bolts to the wall studs. A dehumidifier inside to keep things dry. I bolt my safe to the wall and floor. No gaps of any kind. Gaps are pry points.

Drill your own holes. As long as the back is up against drywall, the fire rating will remain. Most high end safes have a layer of drywall as a fire barrier.

Buy a Golden Rod. You will have to drill a small hole for the power cord, but that can be plugged with some Firestop caulking from Lowes or Home Depot.

A simple answer is that a Dri-Rod or Golden Rod, is used to prevent condensation from forming on metal when colder air enters the interior of the safe.

Ok, I'll readily admit that I am NOT a snappy dresser...