JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Some reason I have struck with a liking for these little things.

I have very little experience with them. Only having shot a friends some 10-12 years ago back in NV.

What thoughts do those that own them have?

I honestly like the thought of the 7.62 model, though that means getting back into that caliber. Perhaps just the 556 model.

Great looking and light weight little rifles.

Overpriced, inaccurate, expensive magazines and nowhere near the amount of aftermarket parts availability compared to an AR15
I've heard that the older ones were minute of barn. Newer ones though seem to be pretty decent.

I had a Mini-14 Ranch Rifle. One of the worst purchases I ever made. Expensive rifle with expensive magazines. Once the barrel heats up (which doesn't take much) forget about any kind of accuracy. The stock trigger is heavy. The rear sight is plastic or soft metal garbage, and it's easy to strip the threads. For that kind of money they need to include a Garand/M14 style of rear sight, IMO.

I sold mine for a big loss $$$ to another forum member.

A budget AR will run circles around the Mini-14. The space inside a gun safe is valuable real estate, I don't keep rifles that can't perform, unless they are old war horses.

If you like the look and feel of the Mini 14, spend the extra bucks if possible, cry once and buy once... Springfield M1A

Here is mine, the Scout version, I love this chonky beast, dozens of firearms and I rank this as one of my favorites to shoot.

IMG_20190614_210104_2.jpg

You will find huge differences of opinion between folks that hate 'em, and those that very much like them. I'm of the very much like them crowd.

I've owned a bunch of them, in both .30 and 5.56 configurations.

Shot a bunch of them. Owned a few. Completely random thoughts: