JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Here is a copy of an email I received from Sen. Jeff Merkley, his response to my demanding they stop throwing out long standing Senate rules.

Oregon's Senator Jeff Merkley
Dear Scott,

Thank you for contacting me with your views regarding my efforts to change Senate rules. I appreciate hearing from you and having the opportunity to offer my perspective.

When I was an intern for Senator Mark O. Hatfield (R-OR) in the 1970s, I experienced firsthand a Senate chamber that was effective. Senators deliberated and voted on legislation and nominations rather than using procedural tools to block votes. Even senators who disagreed were willing to debate and vote.

Unfortunately, over the past few years, senators have engaged in unprecedented obstruction against legislation and presidential nominees. In President Obama's first term, for example, 27 executive branch nominees were blocked, considerably more than the total number filibustered in the previous 10 presidencies. The obstructionism reached a new level this fall, when a minority of senators refused to allow votes on any nominee, no matter how qualified or noncontroversial, to key positions. The constitutional requirement that the Senate "advise and consent" on nominations became a license for the legislative branch to hamstring the judicial and executive branches. This is unacceptable under our constitutional vision of three coequal branches.

On November 21, 2013, the Senate voted to break the political gridlock and allow most judicial and executive branch nominees to receive up-or-down votes, while retaining minority senators' rights to insist on extensive time for debate. This is a huge step toward restoring functionality in the Senate and providing Americans with a fully functioning government.