JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hello all! I'm doing research for my first AR purchase. Most likely in 5.56/.223. I want to spend no more than $1200. I have very little experience with rifles. Someone recommended one made by Thunder Technology based outta Portland. Any one heard of them? For under $700 it seems like a decent deal. I don't wanna buy used nor am I sure I want to build one from scratch. Any advice is appreciated! Thanks ;)

Hello all! I'm doing research for my first AR purchase. Most likely in 5.56/.223. I want to spend no more than $1200. I have very little experience with rifles. Someone recommended one made by Thunder Technology based outta Portland. Any one heard of them? For under $700 it seems like a decent deal. I don't wanna buy used nor am I sure I want to build one from scratch. Any advice is appreciated! Thanks ;)

Things that I would advise would include:

Avoid getting a heavy bull barrel. They will make the rifle way too heavy. Get a medium or light contour barrel instead.

Avoid 16 inch or shorter barrels. Get a 18 or 18.5 inch barrel as a minimum instead. Even consider going with a 20 inch if you don't mind the extra length. You will get better ballistics and also less muzzle blast.

Get a 1/8" twist rate for the barrel. It is the most versatile twist rate for handling a wide range of bullets well.

Don't skimp on the barrel or trigger quality. A good barrel and a good trigger are essential for accurate shooting. Triggers are very easy to upgrade yourself, though. So you could always start out with something cheaper, and easily add a better trigger at a later date.