JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm fairly new to customizing guns, and I was curious if there are options out there to convert a choked Winchester Model 12 (12ga) into a home-defense weapon from its current hunting shotgun status. Right now it's got a long choked barrel and a big hefty butt that I would like to be able to swap out at will with a pistol-grip or tactical stock and a short unchoked barrel. The catch is I want the barrel/mag assembly that easily breaks away from the "receiver". I've hunted for the replacement barrel/mag assembly and it's not exactly easy finding a replacement let alone an unchoked short-barrel.

Again, the basic idea is if I want to go hunting I put on my long choked barrel/mag (with the plug in it to limit it to 3 shots) and regular butt stock... and then for home defense I slap on the short barrel/mag and tac stock with a fully loadable mag.

Notes on legal implications and difficulty of finding such a setup are appreciated.

from the looks of the factory diagram they had 4 barrel lengths available - 30", 28", 26" and 20".
Winchester Model 12

from the sounds of it it may not be an easy swap process - Shotgunworld.com • View topic - Model 12 barrel replacement

Looks like Corson has replacement barrels - some used factory and some aftermarket - the 20" is about $200
SHOTGUN BARRELS: 1000+ NEW & USED SHOTGUN BARRELS FOR SALE

At those prices along with probable smith work to properly fit the new barrel it might be more cost effective to pick up a new or used 12ga that already has a 18 or 20" barrel on it.

A mdl 12 is a poor choice to convert to a HD shotgun. Low availability of parts, and the guns can have
considerable collector value. If it's a junker 12, hack the barrel to 18"+ and call it good. HOWEVER,