JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi folks,

I've got some Springfield XDM magazines whose plastic followers have gotten scuffed and scarred from rounds going through them. They tend to be perpendicular to the way of travel and so are causing misfeeds.
Any thoughts on applying a thin coat of epoxy to smooth out the gouges and toughen the top of the followers? I've never used the stuff before and am not sure how well it can be buffed smooth, if it would handle the potential heat generated by rounds being fired or if it would degrade he plastic beneath.

I wish there were aftermarket aluminum followers to be had.

Thanks in advance!

I don't think the epoxy would be tough enough. Do you have any pictures of the marks? My first instinct would be to attempt to polish out the marks as best as possible while removing as little material as possible.

I don't think the epoxy would be tough enough. Do you have any pictures of the marks? My first instinct would be to attempt to polish out the marks as best as possible while removing as little material as possible.
Thanks Freshman. The one on the lower left is typical of the rest. There's definitely some brass smudges there that I need to remove but there's also a bunch of scuffed plastic all along it particularly at the bottom. The one on top was from a gun that blew up. I figured I could practice on that one as it's unusable as is.

XDm followers damaged.jpg

Interesting. It's hard to tell from the picture, but I don't see anything too damning on the bottom follower. Are you certain this is what is causing your issues? If so, then I would try lightly sanding to smooth out the marks.

It's my best guess. I've kept the gun really clean and haven't modified the mags at all. The feed ramp seems pristine - I can almost see my befuddled reflection on its surface.