JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm looking to get started reloading. I have zero experience with reloading. I've tried to do some research, but there isn't much concise information out there. I will reload hunting ammunition in multiple, basic calibers. Also some pistol calibers. Probably not huge volume, but I'd like capacity for more. My questions:
Which book/books to buy?
What equipment do I need?
Start basic and work up or just buy a good set that will last a lifetime and meet my needs in the future?
Brands? I see huge price differences, what is good value?

I hope this is the right place to post this. Thanks for any help.

I just started reloading as well. I bought the RCBS master kit and like it but I think if I could do it over again I'd save up more money and buy a progressive reloader, or a convertible one. I don't think mine is convertible. I would suggest getting multiple books. I find myself wanting to reload different manufacturers projectiles and wish i had more books. Nosler posts their load data online. If you buy a digital scale, spend $150 at minimum. Just about every review I've read for the lower priced scales are pretty bad. It'll take a while for you to make up your initial investment, but its definitely worth it. My wife is still trying to understand my obsession!

Buy the book that covers the brands of bullets you want to use.

depending on your budget.

The Lee starter set is the least expensive and will last a life time with proper care
One of the RCBS kits will last 2+ lifetimes.
Progressive Presses are best for Handgun and smaller rifle cartridges And best suited towards producing a lot of one thing at one time. But not small batches of a lot of things.