JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
:eek::eek::eek:
since the Pro 2A/NRA's defense of the modern sporting rifle is beginning to look as successful as the German siege of Stalngrad in early days of 1942 I have been asked by friends about the efficacy of of 80 % lowers. I have no experience with them so I am asking folks here which brands seem the best and which might not past muster. It's not a stretch that the devil is the finishing the last 20% but one wants to start with a quality hunk of aluminum. Recommendations for these folks who now breve they want to take our guns?

Brutus Out

Stick with 7075 forgings or billet and you are pretty safe. Personally I would not consider a 6061 forging or a poly anything and I have not seen cast ones in a long while but those are a no no as well.

I agree with the 7075 aluminum. it is a bit harder to cut but I like the added strength for reliability

If you wanted to do a polymer I'd recommend a Tennessee arms one. it has brass inserts for the grip and on the back and they warranty them for breakage for life.
http://www.tnarmsco.com/liberator-80-receiver-blank-blank-only/

I did an FDE one last weekend and it was so much faster to complete than an aluminum one.

otherwise, just go for a tactical machining receiver. For the price you can get several to practice. they will still function great. then once you are more confident get a nicer one that is already coated
http://www.tacticalmachining.com/80-products/80-ar15-lower-receivers.html

dont get a flat. :)

I prefer hellfire lowers , I like the extra threaded holes on the detents and integrated trigger guard.

That said just go with whatever one that looks cool to you, just go by material being used...