JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I just got my first AR. It's a LWRC M6IC. I need optics for it and I know little about scopes. I do know good glass makes a huge difference, but as far as scopes and what will suit my needs, I know very little. I know an entry scope will be just that..and won't waste my money there. I am looking for a good mid-grade scope. Most likely with ability to work close to a decent distance. I don't think I am going to be going beyond 300Y any time soon being as I am new with this and my areas to do it are pretty limited.

Thanks for any advice and information. I do hear the Nikon M-223 is a good choice. Any thoughts on that?

Last Edited:
The M-223 has a great reputation and I don't think you would be sorry later. My preference would be something with less magnification since you will be shooting close as well as 300 yards. I'd take a close look at scopes in the 2x7, 1x4 or 1x6 range - they will do everything you need and be better at close range.

As for manufacturers, Nikon is always competent also consider Vortex and Leupold. Also, every manufacturer has scopes at different quality levels and price points. I really like the Leupold scopes that have the fire dot feature. Primary Arms makes a great inexpensive 1x6 that has an illuminated scope and excellent ranging reticle.

Regardless of scope I really like the Nikon single piece mounts - light weight and not over priced.

Enjoy that new AR!

After looking for a while I just bought a SWFA SS HD 1-6x24. I really love it and although I've only used it out to 100 yards, I had no problem hitting targets at 50-100 yards on 1 power. I plan to go out to 300-400 yards.