JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Looking for recommendations for a Jiu Jitsu gym in the Portland/Beaverton/Tigard area. I'm fairly new to the sport and what to get into a good gym. I want to gain some more knowledge and further my skills in grappling/fighting/hand to hand.

I can never have too many tools to use to deescalate or neutralize a situation without having to go straight to deadly force.

Any opinions on gyms to check out or avoid is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Last Edited:
I train at 5 Rings and love it. I also know several people that train at Impact, and they love it also.
The schedule at 5 rings works much better for me, and there's a shower, so I can go for the morning class and head straight to work.

The schedule at Impact does not work for me nearly as well, and I don't think they have showers (at least not at the Hillsboro one). I wish it did, because they also offer striking classes and mma/ kickboxing sparring, while 5 rings is strictly BJJ.

I recommend taking advantage of the free trials, to see which you like better.

I think SBG is probably most in line with my interests (self defense), but they are too far away from me to be practical

I train at 5 Rings and love it. I also know several people that train at Impact, and they love it also.
The schedule at 5 rings works much better for me, and there's a shower, so I can go for the morning class and head straight to work.

The schedule at Impact does not work for me nearly as well, and I don't think they have showers (at least not at the Hillsboro one). I wish it did, because they also offer striking classes and mma/ kickboxing sparring, while 5 rings is strictly BJJ.

I recommend taking advantage of the free trials, to see which you like better.