JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I have zero experience with sat phones nor PLB's , so no opinion as to specifics recommendation.

I'd figure a PLB (your other thread) would be a farbetter option, simply because they are passive, or can be set to such, is my understanding.

Whereas a sat phone you would have to be conscious to use, and it be undamaged.

A passive PLB set to broadcast your track every so many hours would do just that. Injured or not. If it were damaged in whatever calamity took place, family/SAR would have your prior track(s) to go on.

A SAT phone would be a better option, I figure, for folks headed "way out there" for extended periods of time. To keep in touch with family. Research folks, isolated homesteaders, bush pilots and such. Course HAM might be an option as well in certain of those circumstances, again beyond my personal experience.

My knowledge is second hand.
I have friends that for years have used Spot and have been satisfied. Not voice just 2 way text. They spend A LOT of time traveling and exploring off grid and had used a sat phone prior to moving over to Spot. Spot

We had GlobalStar for a spell for both preparedness purposes and how remote we were back in the day. I wouldn't recommend it because their service had issues about the time we sold off the equipment. I've read, though cannot confirm, they've addressed these issues and it is no longer the case. Still, if I were to get back into sat phones, it would almost certainly be Iridium.