Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Rebuilding a get-home-bag

Discussion in 'Preparedness & Survival' started by mkwerx, Jan 28, 2012.

1. mkwerx

mkwerx Forest Grove, OR Well-Known Member

Mark W's thread has prompted me to get off my duff and rebuild my get home bag. Like Mark W, I drive for a living (tow truck) and often find myself a ways away from home. One day I might be putting around town all day - the next I'm running to Seattle, Medford, Boise, or Bend or anywhere else within 400 miles.

I used to be quite good about keeping a bag packed with spare clothes, provisions for at least a day (when I spent less time farther from home, and more within 10 miles of home), and water. I kept it all in a simple plain looking commercial day pack.

But the last few months I've been lazy. I unpacked said bag a while back with the intent of redoing it, but it never got done. With the political and economic environment we're in, plus the ever present possibility of something like a 9.0 earthquake in the area, I need to get off my duff and get it rebuilt.

Right now, my pack is a simple 1-day commercial pack. It has one large compartment with a divider, a medium size zippered compartment on the lower back, with a smaller zippered compartment above that. Two small zipper compartments large enough to hold two spare G19 mags or a small portable radio are located one on each side of the pack, along with mesh netting for 1 quart nalgene style bottles. it's got a waist strap in addition to the shoulder straps. Made in china bag - so I've never put a LOT of weight in it.

I also have a fairly sturdy fanny pack that used to serve as a tackle bag when I was fishing that I could add to the setup - a single large compartment with two mesh water bottle carriers on the sides, and molle type loops on the front.

Things I used to carry:

Spare set of pants
    Spare long sleeve t-shirt