JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am looking to try out muzzleloader hunting, and since 90% of what I hunt is rabbits, that's where I'm going to start. I would like something inexpensive, since I have never tried it before and can't bring myself to spend $1000+ on something fancy (pretty as they are). I'm looking for recommendations on brands, and any other info that would be helpful. I figured .32 would be good to start with unless there are good reason for others.

.32 cal is a terrible caliber to start out with. The small bore is very fussy about having to be cleaned often. I strongly suggest .40 cal or larger as a small game caliber in a Muzzle loader. Though personally I would go with a 12 ga side by side shotgun in percussion. 2 shots and a slightly better chance of a hit. With only a single round unless your shooting cotton tails that are holding a single shot with a 30 second reload is going to be frustrating with jacks.

You want a round ball barrel with as deep of rifling as possible My 50 cal has a Green Mountain target barrel on it and the rifling is about .010 deep. with a very slow 1-72" twist. On a stock Thompson Center .50 cal its about .004" deep with a 1-48" twist good for Maxi Slugs and deer hunting terrible with a patched round ball. A decent round ball twist is 1 in 66"

I've been out of the Muzzle loader buying world for a long time now so will let others advise on models to look for.

A big Like on the suggestion to visit the GunWorks.

I also agree that many .32 caliber rifles are fussy and not the best choice for a first gun.
That being said I have and use an original rifle in .32 and use for small game.
Please feel free to PM me if you are set on going this route.

I do most of my shooting and hunting with a .54 caliber rifle.
For grouse and other small game I just aim at the head.