JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I'm not sure on the Washington thing, but for a time, I was a Hawaii resident with an annual long gun permit. I bought a CZ 455 in Oregon, then the FFL calls me up asking for my Hawaii permit, "it's in my safe in Hawaii". Long story short, I had to return the gun back to the store, the store have me a full refund.
I haven't read the Hawaii law but if it requires Hawaii residents to have a permit regardless of where they receive the firearm that might explain the FFL's request. Washington could have written the law to require WA residents to get the enhanced background checks regardless of what State they received the firearm in but instead they chose to only require it for transfers conducted in WA State.

Last Edited:
I haven't read the Hawaii law but if it requires Hawaii residents to have a permit regardless of where they receive the firearm that might explain the FFL's request. Washington could have written the law to require WA residents to get the enhanced background checks regardless of what State they received the firearm in but instead they chose to only require it for transfers conducted in WA State.
It does, I was most surprised at how Hawaii law could apply in Oregon. Fun times.

Just need a quick clarification. Can I ( an Oregon resident) sell a semi-auto rifle to a Washington resident? And if so, is it better to have that person come to Oregon or me going into Washington? Thanks in advance!
Have the buyer come to oregon and do a private transfer. No need to involve non-necessary gov. intrusion, especially so if the firearm isnt paperwd to you. If its papered to you, use an FFL to protect yourself.

Maybe this will help:

RCW 9.41.122

Out-of-state purchasing.