JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I have a question for veterans/civilians. First of all, if your a veteran of any sort I'd like to say thank you for your service. So I heard a while ago that it's very impactful to to tell a Vietnam veteran "Welcome back" over "Thank you for your service". This is because of all the controversy at the time when they returned home. And not being welcomed in their own country. I want to know if people actually do say this to veterans, what their reactions are, and if veterans genuinely appreciate getting told this.

Thanks

Last Edited:
I am a Vietnam veteran. I got out in Dec 1968 and I served 18 months in Vietnam. I couldn't grow my hair

out fast enough when I got out, it was the main identifier. I remain very proud of my Army time that I

gave to my country. I was hassled often, and never one on one. I took a few lumps. Mainly I've learned

to let that rest in my past. It's not good for me to go deep into this. If you'd care to buy me a beer

someday I'd talk more openly.

MANY of them I know are often still bitter about how they were treated. Many of those do appreciate the late praise they get now. The same people who are "woke" now were the ones waving signs, screaming at, spitting at, those Vets. That scum (the woke) never change, only the targets change.

While I am a veteran...I am not a Vietnam veteran.
However.....
Many of the Senior NCO's that I learned how to soldier under as well as just how to be a NCO were....
Without them , their example and lessons...I might not be alive today.

I do know that getting through several tough schools in the Army , along with 4 combat tours is on me , so to speak.
But as noted above...the men who taught me...the men who were the example...who lived it...
Helped shape me as a soldier and a Sergeant.