JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
About six weeks ago I developed Tinnitus (ringing in the ears). I have been shooting for around 30 years, and most of that time I have been good about wearing ear protection. Most of my shooting has been trap with some rifle and handgun mixed in.

The medical evaluation isn’t completed yet so it’s possible there may be a curable cause for the condition.

Has anyone here developed tinnitus and been able to keep shooting?

My dad has it and it's not a fun thing to deal with. He doubled up on hearing protection...the kind you stuff in your ears and ear muffs over the top. Quiets it down well enough to not cause issues.

Why couldn't you keep shooting, as long as you use adequate hearing protection?

That’s a good question. I haven’t asked the Doctor yet, but info on the internet says people with Tinnitus are supposed to avoid load noises to keep the condition from getting worse.
I am hoping I can keep shooting by continuing to use hearing protection; and I am wondering if anyone has actually done that without making it worse.

tinnitus is typically caused by malfunction of the middle ear "hair cells"... there is no real sound being detected, but the hair cells in the middle ear are transmitting a signal to the brain as if there is sound being detected...

there are some reversible causes (ear infection, eustachian tube dysfunction) but most tinnitus is permanent...

there is a relationship to hearing loss and tinnitus... so getting a hearing test is important... not to cure the tinnitus but to document how much hearing loss has occurred...

sinus and ear infections, trauma, pressure changes, loud noises from machinery and industrial sources, loud music particularly from headphones as well as idiopathic (unknown) are some of the causes of tinnitus...