JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I am new to reloading, as of 3 days ago to be exact. I Have a 270 pump, Do I need to buy a special die for crimping my rounds. Or do the dies have that built in. I was reading in my loading book that pumps andsemi auto need to be crimped.

Howdy Mica,

I don't think crimping is absolutely necessary for a pump-action gun. The quick forward chambering that occurrs in a semi-auto would not normally happen in a pump. I don't crimp for any rifles except tube-feed guns, and lead/blackpowder loads: not even for semi-autos. Whatever you do, do NOT crimp on a bullet that has no cannelure (crimping groove).

Crimping might be advisable if you are very hard on your ammunition in transport (rattling around in pockets, etc.). Another application would be if rounds were left in the magazine of a rifle of heavy-recoil during a long hunt, and the first round was replaced and fired again and again leaving the same old guys in the box bringing up the rear. In that case, a cartridge repeatedly pounded by recoil while it rested in the magazine might allow its bullet to walk rearward in the case if it were not crimped.

If you have good reloading dies that size the entire neck properly to hold the bullet firmly in the neck, crimping is not needed for your pump .270. Lee Collet dies can result in the neck of the brass not holding the bullet very firmly if not used correctly, and may convince some handloaders that they need a crimp.

thanks, thats good to hear. this is the first pump rifle i have ever had and was concerned. still trying to get used to the feel of it. I cut my teeth on bolt actions since i was a pup. the only reason I have one is because I couldnt pass up the deal.