Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Purchasing a firearm at a gun show as a non-state resident.

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by razzz, Apr 10, 2013.

1. razzz

razzz CA New Member

Hey guys first post here. I am a California resident and I would possibly like to buy a gun at an Oregon gun show this upcoming weekend. I was thinking about buying a handgun(I don't know if that makes a difference). I know in California you have to prove your residency by showing utility bill or something of that sort, but that doesn't seem very realistic at a gun show. So do I have to be a state resident in order to purchase a handgun at a gun show?

Thanks,
    John

2. nwbobber

nwbobber Longview, Wa. Active Member

I believe if you find something you want in Oregon, a Oregon FFL holder has to ship it to an FFL in CA, and you pick it up in your home state. Probably not worth it.

3. Nick Burkhardt

Nick Burkhardt NE Oregon Well-Known Member

Every retailer I have been to post signs stating "Absolutely No Sales to California Residents". I think gun show rules are the same.

Redcap and (deleted member) like this.
  4. Morpheus

Morpheus Columbia Gorge Anyway, back on the farm.

Not to mention I believe in California you need to take a safety course or some kind to get a handgun purchase card.

So, if a dealer would be willing to do it, they would have to contact a dealer in California. Ship it there. Then you would have to drive back and purchase it from that dealer.

But Cali may have other laws in place.

IE Not much of a chance you are going to be able to purchase a handgun (or rifle really) from a Gun Show in Oregon if you are a California resident.

5. Redcap

Redcap Lewis County, WA Well-Known Member

Not sure if troll.

JAFO, duane black, Nutty4Guns and 3 others like this.
  6. accessbob

accessbob Molalla, OR 2A Supporter