JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey guys first post here. I am a California resident and I would possibly like to buy a gun at an Oregon gun show this upcoming weekend. I was thinking about buying a handgun(I don't know if that makes a difference). I know in California you have to prove your residency by showing utility bill or something of that sort, but that doesn't seem very realistic at a gun show. So do I have to be a state resident in order to purchase a handgun at a gun show?

Thanks,
John

Every retailer I have been to post signs stating "Absolutely No Sales to California Residents". I think gun show rules are the same.

Not to mention I believe in California you need to take a safety course or some kind to get a handgun purchase card.

So, if a dealer would be willing to do it, they would have to contact a dealer in California. Ship it there. Then you would have to drive back and purchase it from that dealer.

But Cali may have other laws in place.

IE Not much of a chance you are going to be able to purchase a handgun (or rifle really) from a Gun Show in Oregon if you are a California resident.

Not sure if troll.
It's a valid question. Just one which has no positive outcome for the OP. I can feel for them though. It must be a pain in the backside to have to deal with CA gun laws. One reason why I will never ever go there again, even on vacation, until they made it so that visitors can carry, which is as likely to happen as Diane Feinstein falling off the Golden Gate Bridge tomorrow.

Thanks for the replies guys. That is unfortunate you can't buy a firearm from a dealer, but what about from a private party? I am going with my friend who is an Oregon resident. If he were to buy a gun there and I was to purchase it after from him, would that be perfectly legal?