JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm a noob so I apologize if this is a silly question or has been covered already. I'm new to the site and haven't quite gotten efficient with the search functions here...

Anyway, I have found a couple of rifles for sale on another site that seems to have good activity for WA gun sales. In both cases the seller says he will only sell to someone with a permit or CPL. I don't get this? A rifle is not a handgun. The laws for each are different. It seems like if you document the sale you are no more protected if someone has a permit than if they don't.

I just purchased a new handgun from a dealer so I just went through a background check, etc. It was actually much easier and faster than I expected (first time purchase).

Why are these private parties requiring CWP's or CPL's to sell a rifle?

Thanks in advance for the education and information...

There is no Federal or WA law that requires ID, CPL, Bill of sale or any other nonsense. We have several threads on this board on very similar topic.

Here is what the Federal law says, https://www.atf.gov/content/firearms-frequently-asked-questions-unlicensed-persons Please go to this link and read it.

Here is the key point, "A person may sell a firearm to an unlicensed resident of his State, if he does not know or have reasonable cause to believe the person is prohibited from receiving or possessing firearms under Federal law"

It is written like the rest of english law, innocent until proven guilty. So folks are choosing to put their own personal rules, NOT law into their sales. I personally choose not to deal with those kind of people and when I sell I follow Federal and state law. If something seems fishy, or I am "given a reason to believe the person might be prohibited" I will explore more to make them prove they are not prohibited.