JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Lot's of different primers out there, I'm fairly new to the reloading world. Does it really make a difference or is it just a personal thing ?
I've been using CCI mainly cause they seem to be more available right now, lately Remington's have made there way back to the shelf.

I've used CCI, Federal, and Winchester. If I had to pick a favorite I'd say Federal but I don't really have any data to back it up.

I purchased some Remington Large Rifle a little while back but I have yet to use them so I can't comment on them. The Rem's are apparently suposed to be a little milder then the above 3. Winchesters are credited as being a bit hotter then average. I believe CCI and Federals are in between.

All of the above that I've used seem to light the fire just fine. I'll update you after I've tried the Remingtons. Only reason I bought the Remington was because it was the only brand I could find avaiable for sale at the time.

I prefer Winchester and Federal primers, but I have no problem with remington primers. I think Remingtons numbering system confuses people, but Ive used them for years with absolutely no problems at all. Even the 6 1/2 small rifle that they NOW say are not for 17, 223 etc. Ive used for years in AR's and my bolt guns with zero failures.

For the average shooter, the brand isn't going to make enough difference to matter. (I prefer to stay with only one brand if I can)
Try saying similar to a "Benchrester" and he'll throw a fit!
Just REMEBER that CHANGING ANY of your components in a particular load can change the PRESSURE and when you change a component, you should work up your load again.
Be safe!