JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Just today I loaded my first rounds ever. I'm laddering a 40-minor load using 155gr plated bullets on a 1.125" OAL and 3.4-4.4 grains of Titegroup. I'm just saying this to lay the groundwork that I'm a total newb!

Two primer questions about Dillon presses in general (I am using a Square Deal B)

1) Turn off the primer system? When working on changing the powder measure, and going up and down with cases to draw powder throws to measure, is there any way of "turning off" the primer system? Can I make it so it doesn't send a primer onto the ram? Today I just let it keep that primer on the ram as I was using that stage to just fine-tune the powder measure. I would have preferred to turn off the system so it wouldn't place a primer onto the ram at all. Is this possible without emptying the tube?

2) When done for the night? When closing up shop for the night, without having used up all of your primers in the tube, and when there is still one sitting there on the ram ready to go, what do you do with that last primer? I plan on doing more loading tomorrow so I just put a black sock over the powder, but there is that last primer sitting there (as well as another 50-60 in the tube). Should I put that last one back in the top, or just let it sit? It's just overnight. Do y'all leave primers in the tube for any length of time?

I'm not running a Dillon, but I usually load until I run dry on primers. I worry about getting contaniments (even just finger oil) on primers. Powder I let sit over night, but I usually let the primers tell me when to stop.... but that's just me.

1) Not that I know of. Not really any harm in having it there is there??