JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've been shooting handguns for well over 30 years, and always considered myself a reasonably decent shot. I had come to the conclusion over time that 4" groups at 25 yards was quite acceptable, and 3" was really good.

In recent years I've been practicing more, and re-learning some basics about things like sight picture, grip, and trigger control. It's interesting how you improve when you practice, and practice right. 4" at 25 still seems fine for some guns, 3" for most, but I find myself shooting 2" or better with some guns enough to know that it's completely doable. My best was a 10 shot group from a CZ75, of about 1.5" center to center, and the other day 6 rounds from a S&W 586 in 1.5", and 5 of those were about 1". I can't do that every day but I've done it often enough to know it's achievable with practice (all from a rest). I've even been able to keep them in about 3" (@25yds) with my 3" Model 29, a gun that I've never found easy to shoot accurately.

That said, I don't generally get hung up on tiny little groups, It's just something I get into once in a while, usually when working up a new load. I'm primarily a recreational shooter. I don't compete, hunt, or train for combat. I mostly just shoot for fun, and improving accuracy is an enjoyable test of skill. I have been thinking that I need to get faster. I watch these guys (like some of you all) who can shoot fast and accurately. That's pretty impressive.

What's your standard of accuracy, for the average handgun?

Using USPSA as my standard, I figure if I can shoot 85-90% of the available points in a COF in a time that puts my Hit Factor above 3.0, then I'm doing well enough to handle myself in a street/home invasion encounter.

Last Edited: